Reviews

The Perfect Escape

Escaping real life for a week at Copal was exactly what I needed. The host and her staff make you feel like family. From the moment I stepped off the shuttle I didn’t want to leave, the cozy decor, amazing location and relaxed atmosphere, makes the perfect place for a retreat. Everyday, we would all say “Oh! I think this meal is my favorite.” The food was fresh, authentic, and so delicious. I can’t wait to visit Copal again.

Kristie Buckley

April 26, 2018

Wonderful!

Great, relaxing experience. The host is awesome and was very responsive/helpful before I even booked the trip. The location is beautiful— it doesn’t get much better than sunrise and sunset yoga on the top floor terrace overlooking the ocean. The chefs’ meals were amaaaazing. I liked that our host had activities planned for us between yoga a few of the days but also gave us a couple days where we had free time. Oh and if you ever get a chance to do a retreat with Ricardo Castro— do it! I absolutely recommend Copal.

Catherine Holmes

April 20, 2018

Great location, yoga, food, and good friends.

This was a very enjoyable experience. The location was beautiful and the retreat has just the right amount of activity balanced with down time. Our instructor was amazing and classes overlooking the ocean were just beautiful and peaceful. The food was fantastic and our group was so friendly and enjoyable. Thanks to our host and her staff for truly an amazing getaway. Cant wait to do it again.

Jennifer Godown

April 16, 2018

Beautiful from inside and outside in all sense

The sunrise yoga was amazing, even if it is sometimes hard to stand up, but after the yoga you are so happy and after the breakfast even more! The food was amazing, the people! The host is such an amazing woman! It is a really good vibe between all the people there! We had a lot of fun and I could learn a lot of myself! Thank you!

Lisa-aline Pregizer

March 29, 2018

A safe harbour for your body mind @ spirit!

Just would ask for a map of area as part of my registration in event airport shuttle is missed…its in heart of Paamul a little town not easy to find …

The perfect blend of activities and time for reflection and personal choices. The unique menu prepared lovingly by very gifted Chefs. The atmosphere was accepting, flexible to all our individual and group needs; created by our Host and all her wonderful staff. Can’t wait to go back…a sweet taste of Mexico remains in my heart and body and spirit. I am eternally grateful.

Laara Harlingten

March 26, 2018

Paa Mul.. everything the Dr ordered and more

Pros
The host and her crew are the perfect hosts. Their caring and work ethic are second to none. You can tell that they really love what they do and where they live. They have the most infectious attitude toward living and it is for sure to be a positive experience for anyone visiting Copal Retreats

Cons
There wasn’t anything I disliked. I’m a yogi, so I can go with the flow..being said, the food was incredible, the location was perfect for me…very quiet and private…yet a 10 minute ride to Playa Del Carmen and a 25 minute ride to Tulum…The best of both worlds…Oh, and the activities our host had planned for us were great too.

Wade Carpenter

March 19, 2018

Amazing place, amazing people

Pros
Everything was great. From the hosting, Luis, our friendly genius chef, and Vincent’s Yoga! The host is the perfect, and hilarious, welcoming host. The food was fantastic. Vincent is a great yoga teacher with a good sense of humour! The setting at our host’s house is just wonderful and I hope I can come back!

Cons
Leaving!

Lucy Adam

February 16, 2018

Lovely time in Mexico with amazing yoga and new friends

The food was always very fancy, and the presentation was amazing. I really liked a lot of the food, but many of the menu items weren’t my style or taste.

The location was so perfect. It was like a tropical paradise. The pictures don’t do it justice. The small village felt very exclusive and safe. It was like we had the beach to ourselves. We did enough activities that I was never bored, but not too much that I felt I was being rushed around. The yoga was more intense than any yoga I’ve done before, which was not much, but I left the retreat much more confident in my yoga skills and myself in general. I was very lucky to have ended up with a great group of positive and supportive people.

Rita Hoggan

February 6, 2018

The setting for this retreat is wonderful and soothing. The house is in the village of PaaMul which is a quaint Mexican area. Not overly developed and is quiet serene and peaceful in itself. The house is situated ocean front facing east and offers panoramic sun rises every morning to practice in breathtaking. The whole staff is wonderful The meals were all five star exploding with local flavors and wonderful in appearance The accommodations were very clean and very comfortable. The hostess is fabulous. Her local knowledge of the food and local attractions is readily shared. You have your own private tour guide which just makes the whole experience of staying at the house wonderful !!!!! The yoga with our teacher Vincent Lu was phenomenal. The practice was very intense and very spiritual for me. It was actually quite amazing and experiencing it is the only way to communicate it as words will not do justice to the Practice. Highly recommend and would definitely return.

Shaun Brakstad

January 28, 2018

Gracias a cada uno de ustedes, por compartir risas, emociones, el desayuno, la bici, los abrazos, los cuencos, las cenas alborotadas, el mar, el atardecer, la profundidad de nuestro ser expresado por Janina, la arena, el arrecife. La vida en unos días. 
 
Que este ciclo estemos todos cobijados por las familias tan amorosas que afortunadamente tenemos.
Ximena

Mexico City, Mexico, Dec 27-Jan 3rd, Family and Friends Yoga Retreat

Fue maravilloso, divertido y reparador. 
Que gran vacación!
Llegue medio cojita y regreso caminando con el alma llena. 
Mis hijos encontraron amigos maravillosos y una gran familia. 
Gracias a todos por hacer de esta vacación lo q fue. 
Gracias Lauris por organizar y al equipo de Copal por su labor. 
Ya los extrañamos!
Iliana

San Francisco, CA USA, Dec 27-Jan 3rd, Family and Friends Yoga Retreat

Muchas muchas gracias a todos, ha sido una vacación inolvidable en un lugar inolvidable. Nos quedamos a medias en los própositos, nos desvío una maravillosa historia del inconsciente pero les quería conpartir que esta fue una vacación de enormes y gratas sorpresas como la boda, la visita de Franky, la masajista Gianine que es un medio, los cantos de en el temazcal, así como un viaje de la primera vez que Mis hijos entran solos a jugar a un mar sin olas,   que ven un pez globo, mantarraya y estrella de mar, que se suben atras en una bici, que mi hija boogie bordea, y que se baña en una alberca en la arena….esta unión sin duda trajo grandes momentos y crecimientos para  nosotros y eso fue gracias a la gran compañía….gracias Lauris y Copal por organizar tan bien todo ….gracias a todos por su enorme ayuda…. 
 
Un fuerte abrazo y mis mejores deseos para este año…alegría, paz y salud…todo lo demás ya vendrá!
Rodrigo G

Mexico City, Mexico , Dec 27-Jan 3rd, Family and Friends Yoga Retreat

An exceptional experience for sure. Inspiring setting, food from the heavens & mindful yoga. Our host as coordinator aced it all along the way. She laughs a lot too – so much fun! What a trip it’s been. I’ll never foget it. Namaste Bernadine. One more thing. The personal touch is what distinguishes this retreat. A real home and a family of locals who expose you to the culture and stunning environment.

Bernadine Rudichuk

This retreat was more like being with family. Our host was so good to us, toured us around treated us like gold. The chef fed us amazing meals and spoiled each and every one of us. The rest if the staff were amazing. I can’t wait to go back.

Pat Laberge

Nov 16 2016, Saskatoon SK. Canada

A group of us stayed at Copal Retreat for a Yoga Retreat. I highly recommended this as a destination and will go back again!
The rooms were large and very comfortable with a patio and a walkout to the ocean.

Our host was very accommodating and went above and beyond to ensure we all had fun, taking us to exciting places and some places were very private – we wouldn’t have had these experiences without her. The chef ensured we had great food at every meal, always prepared with our individual preferences in mind! The staff was more than accommodating – all we had to do was ask and our wish was granted !

The yoga space we had was ideally located overlooking the ocean and couldn’t be beat! Thanks so much to our host ~ Your place at Paamul is breathtaking and we will see you again soon!

Toby Cote

Nov 16, 2016, Saskatoon SK

The best yoga retreat – it exceeded all my expectations! The yoga sessions with Lynette were varied and refreshing for mind, body and soul, the setting is idyllic as you practice to the sounds of the ocean waves, The host is fantastic as a host and adventurer, fun and spiritual event organizer and Shawn is a chef extraordinaire. We had an amazing group of yogis who inspired each other, laughed together and learned from one another. I highly recommend this retreat.

Tracy Brand

Nov 18 2016

This was my first yoga retreat, but it will definitely not be my last! The entire trip was very well coordinated by our host. who ensured that everyone felt right at home. She was always there to greet you her big smile and answered whatever questions or concerns the group had. No matter where she led the group to, there was always a lot of laughter and memories made! The daily meals were prepared by Shawn. Every meal was worth writing home about and his pancakes are better than your mom’s (sorry, mom).

The yoga instructor I had was Lynette, and she was absolutely phenomenal! She led the group through sunrise and sunset yoga every day, and encouraged us to work on our personal growth. This led to the group of mostly strangers to become a united group of women that will be friends for life.

My Copal Retreat will have a lasting impact on my life and I highly recommend taking the opportunity to go on a yoga retreat at Copal Retreat! The setting and the people will ensure a trip of a lifetime!

Sarah Pratt

Nov 19 2016, Saskatoon, Sk Canada

We had a fantastic time! You really can’t beat the pristine, beautiful waters of their neighboring private beach. I really enjoyed the activities, for example a day trip to Tulum and a visit to a neighboring cenote (absolutely beautiful! I’d never seen one before!). The masseuse was also wonderful. There were many highlights to the trip, but aside from the obvious perks of yoga on her beautiful terrace with sweeping views of the clear waters and sunrise/sunset, the food prepared by Sean, our private chef, was phenomenal. He never failed to impress! I really miss the food!! The host herself is a beautiful soul — very kind and sweet. Keep in mind her beautiful estate is in a natural jungle environment, but even this germaphobic, bug-hating girl was happy! And her prices are fantastic of course and reflect this. I loved that her place was away from the super commercialized, touristy areas. Definitely a good spot for a retreat! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Connie Chen

Jan 26th 2017, Los Angeles, CA. USA

I could not have asked for a more incredible place to lead and practice yoga. Drinking coffee while watching the sun rise over turquoise waters, and breathing and moving together with the ocean breeze and sound of waves crashing below was a deeply moving and almost surreal experience. The beauty of this place is overwhelming. Other highlights include the welcome ceremony featuring Mexican cuencos, exploring the backyard reef (so many baby sea urchins!), short bike rides to the private beach, and… the food. Each meal was inventive, healthy, and absolutely delicious. I have so much gratitude for the host, the chef, and everyone else at Copal who made this retreat possible. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Meghan Bettis

Jan 26th 2017, Little Rock, AR. USA

This is a must for anyone not wanting to do the padded extravagance of the all-inclusive and not quite willing to brave it in a hostel. The house setting gives it an intimate and familial feel. Every meal was a hit, even when things were made with ingredients I didn’t like. I had seconds, in fact! The host will give you lots of options to keep your days busy and fun, or you can choose to just chill at the house and relax. I recommend doing the ruins, dining at in Tulum and boogie boarding in the ocean afterwords. The view was incredible there. Also, you MUST go to the cenote. It’s what heaven looks like, I’m sure of it. This was my first trip out of Canada, and the memories I have from my retreat will be treasured for as long as my memory functions. I honestly cannot wait to go back.

Kyla Pearce

Feb 1/2017, Saskatoon, SK. Canada

 

Leave us a review:

Leave a Comment/Review
Sending

 

Leave a Comment/Review
Sending